DUI Lawyers in Denver Helping you Avoid a DUI Conviction, Reducing Your Penalties
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a crime in every state. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s 2020 annual crash data shows fatalities in alcohol-impaired-driving crashes were up 14 percent in 2020 compared with previous years, resulting in 212 deaths in Colorado alone.
The seriousness of driving while impaired and the danger it brings to other drivers is why the laws are constantly changing and becoming stricter all of the time. DUIs are not as always cut and dry as some may think, however.
There are first-time offenses, repeat offenses, and other nuisances that can impact your overall case, and in certain situations might demand a not guilty plea due to lack of probable cause for arrest, no reasonable suspicion, faulty DUI breathalyzer test, or failure to prove you were drinking while intoxicated. Every situation is unique, and our Denver DUI lawyers might be able to change the outcome and help you avoid conviction or reduce your fines or sentence in some cases.
If you have committed your first-time DUI offense or believe you have been wrongly convicted of a DUI, this is where an experienced attorney with Ragab Law Firm, P.C. can step in as DUI laws are tricky and a conviction does not automatically mean you are guilty. Book a free consultation now to see what’s possible.
How Does Colorado Handle DUIs?
Penalties following a DUI conviction vary depending on the circumstances and state law. A criminal defense attorney with Ragab Law Firm, P.C. can help you understand how Colorado state law applies to your specific situation.
You are considered driving while under the influence in Colorado in the following scenarios:
- You are considered “under the influence” with a blood or breath alcohol content of 0.080 or greater
- You can still be charged with a DUI even if your test result comes back below 0.080
- You can and will be charged with a DUI if you refuse to submit a chemical test while showing signs or indicia of impairment or being under the influence
- You are guilty of a DUI if you are substantially incapable of operating a vehicle safely, including non-motorized vehicles such as bicycles
A first-time DUI offense in Colorado, as one example, typically includes five days to one year in jail, a fine of $600 to $1,000 plus court costs, up to 96 hours of community service, and a driver’s license revocation period of up to nine months.
There are always variables in DUI cases to consider, including mistakes made by police officials, and a conviction does not automatically mean guilty.
Engaging a Denver DUI lawyer with Ragab Law Firm, P.C. to review your case, whether you are a first-time or repeat offender, or you believe you are not guilty, can potentially protect your driver’s license, and avoid an ignition interlock and possibly a criminal record.
What Happens After a DUI?
If you were caught driving a car or truck while under the influence and are currently dealing with DUI charges, you likely have a lot of questions and “what if” scenarios playing through your mind.
A DUI charge is serious, and it can hinder your future in several ways. Your driver’s license might be suspended or revoked, and you could face high court costs, penalties, a criminal record, and jail time. The typical process after a DUI includes:
- An arrest
- Booking and bail
- Preliminary hearing
Preparing for what happens next is important and calling on a criminal defense attorney will give you the professional legal representation you need at trial, and offer a solution to future, possible consequences of your sentence.
A DUI attorney with our knowledgeable and experienced team can help you make tough decisions after arraignment, including a plea bargain in a first-time offense situation, or help reduce your charges if appropriate. If you are in this situation now, book a free consultation to discuss your legal options.
Can I Have a DUI Cleared from My Record?
Certain choices in life cannot be erased, and in the case of drunk driving, only in limited circumstances can you expunge your criminal record after a DUI conviction. Denver, CO, happens to be a state with some of the toughest DUI penalties in the country.
If a judge or jury convicts you of drunk driving, you cannot expunge the conviction from your record. The same is true if you plead guilty to drunk driving.
There are exceptions to the rule, and you can expunge a DUI arrest record due to drunk driving if a judge acquitted you or a judge dismissed the case, and prosecutors chose not to file charges.
A DUI law firm like Ragab Law Firm, P.C. can evaluate your record and discuss potential options with you if you are eligible, and meet certain state requirements after the waiting period is over, or you can prove good behavior 10 years after your conviction.
Colorado law does not make it easy to clear your criminal record, though an experienced DUI lawyer with Ragab Law Firm, P.C., might be your solution when the circumstances and timing are right to petition the court.
Minimize the Impact of Your Mistake and Talk to a DUI Lawyer
A DUI case can last, on average, six to twelve months. Multiple sources show that hiring a Denver DUI attorney pays off quickly as a dropped DUI charge can save you nearly $3,400 in insurance costs alone. And in cases where the court charges additional fines for negligent or reckless driving, for example, you can save an additional $1,900 in insurance.
Court costs and fines add up, and you can spend nearly $4,000 on the process. Our DUI attorneys with Ragab Law Firm, P.C. will evaluate your situation and develop a possible DUI defense to lessen your penalties, fines, or sentence to minimize the impact of your drunk driving incident.
A sentence and criminal record can impact your ability to get a job and might hinder personal relationships, among many other things.
When you hire our defense attorneys to represent you, we look at several angles and opportunities to build a case for getting your charge to be dismissed or lessened, including:
- Was the traffic stop valid?
- Is there reasonable suspicion?
- Did the three field sobriety tests do their job?
- Are the results of the blood, breath, or urine test viable?
- Can they prove you were driving while intoxicated?
DUI laws are ever-changing, and the legal consequences of your offense might not warrant the outcome. Rely on our legal counsel for answers, a fair representation of your situation, and viable solutions after a DUI offense. Book a free consultation and speak with one of our criminal defense attorneys today.